Between the Lines

Norwegian artist's response to #MeToo. More than one hundred art works on display. Can be seen at the Women's Museum until September 27th 2018.

  • Åtte plakater fra Between the Lines-utstillingen. (Foto/Photo)
    Åtte plakater fra Between the Lines-utstillingen. Anne Lise Stenseth, Camilla L., Henrik Plenge Jakobsen, Kajsa Dahlberg, Henriette Pedersen, Espen Gleditsch, Elise Storsveen og Jeanette Christensen

About the exhibition

118 artists takes part in this group exhibition, as a reaction to #MeToo. They wish to help raising awareness of the problematic power dynamics still at play in society and its institutions.

The Academy of Fine Art in Oslo initiated a temporary working group focused on mobilizing intersectional solidarity in the wake of the historical moment brought about by the #MeToo-campaign. So far there has not been a joint manifestation for the field of visual art in Norway, and as a modest starting point for what we hope will be a broader movement, we are launching the poster project BETWEEN THE LINES. The exhibition was first shown at the Oslo National Academy of the Arts10.–17. February, 2018.

BETWEEN THE LINES is a group exhibition with contributions by more than one hundred artists connected to the Norwegian art scene. A wide spectrum of very established artists to young art students have contributed to the project. The exhibition has come together as an open call process accepting all contributions invested in raising awareness of the problematic power dynamics still at play in society and its institutions. Together the works address structural issues related to sexism, racism, homophobia, and class conflicts and seek to inspire and enlighten our mutual pursuit of change.

The posters are printed on a risograph and the project is inspired by See Red Women’s Workshop operating in the UK from the early 70’s to 1990 with a focus on defying the sexist images of women and creating positive and strong alternatives.

BETWEEN THE LINES is one out of hopefully many initiatives that will discuss and take part in documenting the stories of our time, voicing change and imagine a more constructive and fair model of power distribution, both within the field of visual art, interpersonal relationships, and society at large.

Artists names

Elise Adamsrød, Hedda Amundsen, Andrea Arroyo, Marie Askeland, Katharina Barbosa, Amelia Beavis-Harrison, Eyolf Befring & Øyvind Johansen Lind, Hanan Benammar, Johan Urban Bergquist, Emilie de Rohan Birkeland, Ragna Bley, Peter Brandt, Jennie Bringaker, Aurora Bratli Brunvoll, Liv Bugge, Brynhild Bye-Tiller, Zane Cerpina, Dorothy Cheung, Jeanette Christensen, Sara Christensen, Kristian Øverland Dahl, Kajsa Dahlberg, Line Solberg Dolmen, A K Dolven, Lisa Edetun, Anders Eiebakke, Ørjan Elias Ebbesen Eikemo, Linda Bournane Engelberth, Marthe Ramm Fortun & Andrea Galiazzo, FRANK (Sille Storihle & Liv Bugge), Marketa Garai, Espen Gleditsch, Helga Gmelin Hussels & Felix Gmelin, Ane Graff, Thomas Grødal, Tarje Eikanger Gullaksen, Emil Gustavsson, Ane Hjort Guttu, Elna Hagemann, Sofie Hagen, Maj Hasager, Elin Glærum Haugland, Sunniva Havstein, Marianne Heier, Berenice Hernández, Saskia Holmkvist, Ellen Synøve Holtskog, Henrik Plenge Jakobsen, Marte Johnslien, Tina Jonsbu, Line Skywalker Karlström, Karin Keisu, Melanie Kitti, Kristine Knapstad, Ane Thon Knutsen, Anne-Liis Kogan, Søren Krag, Kaja Krakowian, Ulf Kristiansen, Kamilla Langeland, Yngvar Larsen, LOCUS (Thale Fastvold & Tanja Thorjussen), Lotte Konow Lund, Njål Lunde, Camilla Løken, Pierre Lionel Matte, Andreas Meinich, Clémence Mérouze, Araiz Mesanza, Eline Mugaas, Therese Myran, Terje Nicolaisen, Louise Vind Nielsen, Vibeke Luther O ́Rourke, Amalie Vestergaard Olsen, Linn Olsson, Ina Otzko, Oxymoron (Linda Hærnes & Ida Immonen), Gabrielle Paré, Henriette Pedersen, Kate Pendry, Niels Munk Plum, Martine Poppe, Pål Rees, Vilde Rolfsen, Sara Rönnbäck, Anna Roos, Julija Rukanskaitė, Amina Sahan, Vessna Scheff, Yang Shen, Evelin Sillén, Magnus Sjöbleke, Ingrid Granrud Skaaret, Sigmund Skard, Martin Skauen, SPACEGIRLS, Cesilie Irene Steinaa, Anne Lise Stenseth, Maria Storm-Gran, Elise Storsveen, Linn Svensson, Tegneklubben, Constance Tenvik, Josefine Thuresson, Magnus Tomt, Helene Torp, Linn Cecilie Ulvin Magnus Vanebo True Solvang Vevatne Petrine Vinje Vilde von Krogh Gelawesh Waledkhani Synnøve G. Wetten Jessica Williams, wlkr, Tzi Li Wong, Lill Yildiz Yalcin.

Working group: Hanan Benammar, Liv Bugge, Ane Graff, Stine Hebert & Marianne Heier